Big East’s new look in 2013; Two Divisions, East & West?

The Big East is in a transitional period in their conference in regards to college football. Gone is the 8 team conference that fans have known for the past several years as the Big East moves on after defections and looks to become a power in the world of college football once again. The shakeup that began with the defections of both Pittsburgh and Syracuse to the ACC and later West Virginia to the Big 12 will come full circle as the Big East’s rumored expansion efforts appear to be made official later this week. Here is what we expect to see for the Big East football season in 2013:

Big East - East Division

  • Cincinnati Bearcats
  • Connecticut Huskies
  • Louisville Cardinals
  • Navy Midshipmen
  • Rutgers Scarlet Knights
  • South Florida Bulls

Big East - West Division

  • Air Force Falcons
  • Boise State Broncos
  • Houston Cougars
  • San Diego State Aztecs
  • SMU Mustangs
  • UCF Knights
While a divisional format is not yet known for sure, this could easily be changed due to UCF not being geographically a fit for the West Division of the new-look Big East Conference.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.